ūüďĖ 2 mins read

Automate removal of shares on files after X days

If you wish to automatically take action on file permissions after a certain period of time has passed, you can use the scheduled features in GAT+.

Here is a common scenario, you want to remove public file permissions if the file has been shared out (outside the organization) longer than X days, essentially you want to place an expiry date on sharing permissions.

Steps to configure these scheduled actions:

Access to GAT+ ‚Äď Drive Audit

Launch GAT+

Click on Drive audit section from the menu on the left.

Select and click on the Apply custom filter button.

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 1

Apply filter

Apply the following condition (search parameters). Sharing flag equals Shared Out.

And make sure to name the scheduled filter.

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 2

 

Schedule Report

Then click on the Scheduled check-box.

Once you do that you will see a few more options displayed:

Set Occurrence as an example we set it to Every weekend to run this report (operation), every weekend.

Click on check-in mark to be Enabled

When ready press on Apply & Schedule.

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 3

Report Overview

When this is done click on the Scheduled Reports section from the menu on the left, under Configuration.

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 4

The Scheduled report will be displayed, with options available on the right side.

Click on the + sign under the Actions tab

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 5

Scheduled Job Details

A new window called Scheduled job details will be displayed.

  • Set the Status to Enabled
  • Under Action click on¬†Remove only the following External shares¬†
  • In¬†Shares to remove, enter the valid filters, such as¬†everyone¬†or¬†everyone with link¬†(sharing permissions)
  • Only shared, enter the number of days

Only files with last recorded Shared out date will be affected.

GAT+ | Automate removal of shares on files after X days 6

Give time frame

Only shared 30 days ago means files that have the shares (everyone, everyone with link) that have been Shared more > than 30 days ago, only those files will be affected and Shares removed.

Click on the Save button.

When this is done, based on the filter applied above ‚Äď Sharing flag = Shared out, and those shares that have been done¬†more¬†than 30 days ago, they will be affected and¬†shares removed.


If you would like to run a trial of our products please install GAT+ from the G Suite Marketplace and contact us at support@gatlabs.com with any questions you may have.

To request a demo please click here and fill the form, we will get back to you in less than 12 hours during weekdays.

If you tried GAT in the past and you would like to run a fresh trial again, please enquire through this form.

Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!