Project Description

📖 < 1 min read
Shared drives can be used to store, search, and access files with a team. Admins can choose whether to let file editors in their organization move content from My Drive to shared drives, as long as the file owner is a member of the shared drive.
However, until now it was often not possible to move files originally created by users whose accounts are suspended, as suspended accounts can’t be added as members of a shared drive. Admins can suspend an account to temporarily block a user’s access to your organization’s Google services (for example, you may suspend the account of a former employee).
With this launch, file editors can now add these files to shared drives. As long as admins choose to allow users to migrate files to shared drives, content created by a user whose account is suspended by their organization’s administrator will be eligible to be added to a shared drive.

Getting started

  • Admins: This feature is controlled by the more general setting at Admin console > Apps > Google Workspace > Drive and Docs > Migration settings > Allow users to migrate files to shared drives. If this is turned on already, the feature will automatically become available to users when it rolls out. Use the Help Center to learn more about moving content to a shared drive.
  • End users: There is no end user setting for this feature.

Rollout pace

Availability

  • Available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Fundamentals, and Education Plus, as well as Google Workspace Business and Nonprofits customers
  • Not available to Google Workspace Business Starter and Google Workspace Basic customers.

Resources

Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!