Project Description

📖 < 1 min read
Google is making two changes to “knocking” (requesting to join a meeting) in Google Meet to reduce disruptions in education meetings.
First, if a meeting moderator rejects a knock twice from the same participant, the participant will be blocked from knocking again. This means the moderator won’t see any additional knocks from that user for the duration of the existing meeting.
Second, if the moderator ejects a participant, that participant will be unable to:
  • Rejoin the existing meeting (even if they are in-domain or on the calendar invite).
  • Knock to request rejoining the existing meeting.
Previously, when disruptive members were ejected from a meeting, they were able to continue disrupting the meeting by either re-joining or continuously knocking.
Note: if the moderator mistakenly ejects a participant, they can still add that participant to the meeting by manually inviting them. They can use the add person button in the people panel.

Getting started

Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
 
End users: This feature will be ON by default. Visit the Help Center to learn more about removing Google Meet participants.

Rollout pace

Availability

  • Available to Google Workspace for Education and Google Workspace Enterprise for Education customers
  • Not available to Google Workspace Essentials, Google Workspace Enterprise Essentials, Google Workspace Basic, Google Workspace Business, Google Workspace Enterprise and Google Workspace for Nonprofits customers
Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!