Project Description📖 < 1 min read
Permissions in Google Groups help control who can view, post, and moderate content in your groups, as well as determine who can manage members and other group settings. You can assign a set of permissions to users in your groups using roles—roles available by default include owner, manager, and member.
With this launch, you can now create a custom role that allows admins to assign a specific set of viewing, posting, and moderation permissions for users within a given group. By adding this to new Groups, Google makes it quicker and easier to manage group permissions at scale while ensuring all users have the right permissions for your groups.
Note that custom roles were previously available in classic Groups. All custom roles created in classic Groups will continue to work and be available to use in new Groups as well.
- Admins: This feature will be available by default for all groups. Visit the Help Center to learn more about how to create and assign custom roles.
- End users: This feature will be available by default. Groups owners can set up custom roles for their groups. Visit the Help Center to learn more about custom roles in Groups.
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Full rollout (1–3 days for feature visibility) starting on November 10, 2020
- Available to Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, and Enterprise Plus, as well as Google Workspace Basic, Business, Education, Enterprise for Education, and Nonprofits customers