Project Description

📖 2 mins read
Earlier this year, Google made the new Google Groups generally available. Since then, it’s been the default version of Groups, but admins could turn off the new interface for their users via an Admin console setting.

Starting on September 15, 2020, Google will make new Groups the default for all users. When this happens:

Visit the Help Center for more information on new Groups and the transition from classic Groups.

Who’s impacted

Admins and end users

Why it’s important

New Groups has a more efficient and streamlined user interface, which makes it easier for users to create and manage groups. See Google’s previous announcement for a full overview of the new Groups experience. In that announcement, Google noted that some features in classic Groups were not yet available in new Groups. Since then, Google have listened to your feedback and recently launched several highly requested features, including:
Google is working to add more soon. See the Help Center for the full list of features Google is planning to launch.

Additional details

Planning for a complete migration to new Groups 
Google is planning to migrate all users to new Groups at a future date. At that time, classic Groups will no longer be available. Google will announce this change on the G Suite Updates blog at least three weeks before it takes place. Note that you can use the Help Center to see a list of the features that Google doesn’t plan to add to new Groups before this migration.

Getting started

  • Admins: The Admin console setting to turn off new Groups for your users will be removed. There will no longer be a way for you to require your users to use classic Groups. Visit the Help Center to learn more about new Groups and the transition from classic Groups.
  • End users: End users will see new Groups by default when they go to groups.google.com, but can revert to classic Groups at any time. Visit the Help Center to learn how to go back to classic Groups. If users were already using new Groups there will be no change to their experience with this change.

Rollout pace

Availability

  • Available to all G Suite customers
Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!