📖 2 mins read

In GAT+, it’s possible to export all your Google Groups including the full property list for each group. The exported spreadsheet can be updated and imported back in GAT+ to make multiple changes at the same time. Changing any collection of properties ‘in bulk’ is a powerful feature for bulk group management, in particular where you need to close down a particular access point.

Deleting Multiple Groups

An admin can delete and add groups via exporting and importing method.
For example, you can select the Last used tab in the Groups audit. Using this section you can identify which Google Groups are no longer active or necessary. Maybe these groups are confusing your users by appearing as suggestions when composing emails.

Once you have a list of Google Groups you have identified as inactive and no longer necessary to have, go to the Groups tab. Then export the information.

Enter the generated Spreadsheet and delete the group you don’t need by removing it.
Simply find the groups you want to delete, then remove the Group_ID and change the status from No to Yes under the DELETED column.
The Red (background) field cannot be edited(only removed) to delete. Green (background) fields can be edited or added and removed.

Then import the Spreadsheet back into GAT+.

select the "import data" button in GAT.

Once you have verified the changes you’ve made, the groups will be updated and the selected groups will be deleted.

Creating Multiple Google Groups

Creating multiple groups with GAT+ is a similar process for deleting multiple groups. You will need to use the Export data and the Import data functionality.
If you want to add a new group, add a new record to the spreadsheet and leave value under the ID column empty. This is because Google will automatically generate the ID of the new group. To create a group simply Add an Email and Name fields, then you can then use the User audit in GAT+ to update the membership list.

Note: you can’t input the members/managers of Google groups in this spreadsheet. You can do that in the User audit section using it’s own specific Export data/Import data functionality.