📖 < 1 min read

Want to identify items in Google Drive that were placed in trash and have been there for a long period of time?

Is there a way through GAT to run a job to delete those Google Drive files?

You can use GAT+ to find Google Drive files that are trashed.
To start, filter by Updated filed, choose the files you want to delete.
Change the ownership of those files with the option to un-trash them.
Place them in a folder easy for you to find, once you are the new owner of the documents you can remove/delete them.
In Drive audit, apply custom filter search and use the following search parameters

Example:

Type = Files by user status (to exclude suspended/deleted users) as we cannot take action on their files.

Then search for Flags contains Trashed.
GAT+: How to Identify All Long Time Trashed Files in Google Drive 1

The result can be filtered by Updated to show you the last updates on those documents.

GAT+: How to Identify All Long Time Trashed Files in Google Drive 2

 

 

Or add additional search option on the filter to find Updated before 2019 for example.

GAT+: How to Identify All Long Time Trashed Files in Google Drive 3

Then select all the Google Drive files (check-mark beside Title) or individual files (besides the filename)

Under general add the email of the new owner change to ownership to yourself (person who will delete the files)

Un-trash the files and place them in a folder (custom path) that will be created in new owners’ drive from where they can be deleted.

GAT+: How to Identify All Long Time Trashed Files in Google Drive 4

Then click next until you go to Summary, see the changes that will be done and click on send the request for approval.

 

GAT+: How to Identify All Long Time Trashed Files in Google Drive 5

Once it is approved, the files will have a new owner (joe@generalaudittool.com).

The files will be un-trashed and placed under MyDrive – in Folder/ToDelete location.

The result will be as follows:

The Google Drive files will be removed from the Trash bin of the original owners and placed under new ownership, and from there they can be deleted.

 

Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!