---
title: Automatically Remove Managers in Bulk with GAT Flow
description: "**GAT Flow** is a comprehensive tool that enables process automation, allowing every administrator to perform tasks more easily and in a planned manner in [Google Workspace](https://workspace.google.com/). The administrator can add or **remove users managers in bulk from selected users or…"
url: "https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/automatically-remove-managers-in-bulk-with-gat-flow/"
updated: "2025-11-19"
category: "Users Audit & Management"
tags:
  - GAT Flow
---

# Automatically Remove Managers in Bulk with GAT Flow

**GAT Flow** is a comprehensive tool that enables process automation, allowing every administrator to perform tasks more easily and in a planned manner in [Google Workspace](https://workspace.google.com/).

The administrator can add or **remove users managers in bulk from selected users or a group.**

![Google Admin console displayed User Information section that shows user's Manager email address. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Remove-man-1.png)

## Define Workflow Type

To create a workflow that removes users managers, navigate to the left menu and click **Flow > Create workflow.**

You will see the **Create workflow** window. Under the **Define Workflow Type** section, enter the workflow **Basic Information** as follows:

- **Workflow name **– enter a name for the workflow
- **Workflow description** (optional) – enter a description of the workflow
- **Type** – select the workflow type:
  - **Modify **– **Modify** users
- **Run immediately after approval** (selected by default) – pick up a date when the workflow is to run, if applicable. More [details here.](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/scheduled-time-based-workflows/)
- **Next** – click on the button to proceed

![GAT Flow Create Workflow section showing how to Define Workflow Type. It displays Basic information such as Workflow name, Workflow description and workflow Type. Default option under the Setting section is selected and allows the workflow to "Run immediately after approval". "Next" button is available and allows to proceed further.](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-1.png)

## Search for a User

**Search for a User **– select the users to add to the workflow. Under the **Add user** section, there are the following options to use:

**Select user by**:

- **User** – Search and select individual user(s)
- **Group** – Search and select a Group of users
- **Org. unit** – Search and select Org. Unit of users
- **Classroom** – Search and select Classroom
- **Import users** – add users through import

!["Search for a user" section is displayed and allows for selecting individual user(s), group of users, org units or import users to the workflow. "Next" button is displayed and allows to continue. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Remove-man-3.png)

After adding users, click **Next. **

## Choose Actions

Set up the workflow actions by clicking on the “**+**” button on the left side of the workflow diagram to **Add action.**

!["Add action" button is displayed and allows building up the set of actions for the workflow. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-2.png)

All available options for the **Modify type of workflow**action will be displayed.

Utilize a quick search option and type the keyword that allows for quick action return, e.g., "*manager",* assisting in the process to **Remove Managers in Bulk.**

Select the **Remove user manager** action.

!["Remove user manager" action is displayed. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-4.png)

The action is added to the workflow.

Once ready, click on the **Send approval request** button to send the workflow to the Security Officer for verification.

!["Remove user manager" action is added to the workflow. "Send approval request" button is displayed and allows to send the workflow to the Security Officer for approval. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-5.png)

You will see a pop-up window that requires confirmation to proceed with the request.

![Warning message is displayed and allows to confirm the action taken before sending it for verification. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-7.png)

*Note: If you have pre-approval enabled, you can proceed without an approval email. You can find more details[here.](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/how-to-set-up-preapproval-acces-for-flow/)*

The request will be sent to the **Security officer** for approval.

![Automatic notification message sent to the Security Officer with the request to review the workflow is displayed. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-9.png)

The Security Officer **can review and approve or deny the workflow.**

Once approved, the workflow will run, and all assigned Managers will be removed from all users selected for this workflow.

## Results

To review the workflow status and view its details, navigate to **Workflows** and find the relevant workflow in the table.

Click on the **Detail** icon to see more details.

![GAT Flow Workflows section is showing and allows to review the workflow in details.](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-10.png)

The **Status** of the request can be as follows:

- **Requested** – send to the Security officer for approval
- **Approved **– the Security Officer has approved the request
- **Job status** – will show the status of the current workflow job
  - **Scheduled** – when is set to run
  - **Done** – when the workflow has been completed
  - **Partially done** – when completed partially
    - **Eye icon** – click on the eye icon to view more details
- **Details icon** – the icon on the right side of the workflow will show all details for the Flow request
  - **Save as action set** – save the Workflow as an action set for easy later use
  - **Edit** – edit the workflow and apply changes

The **Workflow Details** section allows you to drill down into the workflow by clicking the number under each status column, such as "Done" (shown below), to view more details.

![Workflow Details section is displayed from where the workflow results can be reviewed. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-11.png)

You removed the Manager from the **User Information** section in the Google Admin console.

![Google Admin console showing the Users information section without Manager email address. ](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Work-12.png)

## Related Posts

- [Set Users Manager in Bulk](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/set-users-manager-in-bulk/)
- [Actions Available when Offboarding Users](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/actions-available-when-offboarding-users/)
- [Shared Drive Membership Management](https://gatlabs.com/knowledge/tech-tips/shared-drive-membership-management/)
