File management functionalities
GAT Unlock required
File ownership change – when the admin enters the name of the New owner there are 3 options:
Deny access for the old owner – By default when ownership is changed, the previous owner is added as an additional editor
Untrash file- If any files are in the Bin folder, they will be restored and taken out of the trash during the ownership transfer
- A custom path can be selected where the file to be moved into – Custom folder path for the files to be placed in, enter the folder name followed by the forward-slash (/), for example, folderX/
When Ownership change is required, an admin can select the custom path where the files will be placed in the new owner’s drive.
If no custom path is selected the ownership change file will be located in new user MyDrive – FM123567
Select the file you want to change ownership to, click on the Apply permission change to this file if you select an individual file (below)
Select File operations button then File management if you want to make a bulk change on more than one file (below)
Both of those methods will open File management.
Add the new owner email then click on the Custom path and enter the path you want the file to be placed in.
By default when ownership is changed, the previous owner is added as an additional editor.
Admin, however, can Deny access for old owners by removing their access as editor/reader.
If the selected files are trashed, at the time of ownership change, they will be un-trashed and placed on the custom path.
If any files are in the Bin folder, they will be restored and taken out of the trash during the ownership transfer.
In the case below as a custom path is set as a FolderA/FolderB, click Next to proceed further.
Additional action can be taken alongside the ownership change such as Add, Remove or Replace permissions.
In the summary tab, you can see the actions that will come into effect once you click on send request.
When the request is approved, the new owner (receiver) will have those two folders (FolderA/FolderB) created and the files will be inside.
The files will be changed to the new owner (firstname.lastname@example.org) and added to their MyDrive.
The files will be located in FolderA, FolderB location and inside you will see folders from each of the users (the original two owners of the files selected), the folder structure will be the same as it was in the original owner.