📖 < 1 min read

Removing Everyone (the whole world) as an Editor of a Google Document 

Many users are not used to the concept of external sharing of a Google Document, sometimes they may share a file to ‘Everyone’ with edit privileges.

Using the G Suite Admin Console finding these files which have ‘Everyone’ as editors is an impossible task, with GAT+ this is made easy.

Note: Sometimes there may be a legitimate reason to have ‘Everyone’ as a viewer, but there are very few circumstances where a company document should have everyone in the world as an editor!

Launch GAT+ and enter Drive Audit. Click on the familiar custom filters button.

When the menu appears, select the following search parameters:

    • Editors contains (exact match) everyone
  • Sharing Flags contains Shared in

GAT+: Remove Everyone as an Editor of a Google Document 1

Now I can see all of the files which have everyone as editors! So I will now remove these permissions. Click on the File Operations button and select ‘Remove permissions’.

GAT+: Remove Everyone as an Editor of a Google Document 2

In the menu that appears select the following configurations:

Enter the key term everyone in the field “Remove Only the following External Shares”. And notify the owners which were affected.

GAT+: Remove Everyone as an Editor of a Google Document 3