Actions Available when Modifying Users

Actions Available when Modifying Users #

Flow is a User Management tool for Google Workspace domains. There are 3 types of workflows Onboard,  Modify, and Offboard existing users

For Modifying users the Admin has a lot of options available. 

Below are examples available for “Modifying workflow”. 

Navigate to GAT+ > Flow

Create modifying workflow #

Workflow type #

From the menu on the left click on Create workflow.

Create workflow window will be displayed.

  • Name – enter a name for the workflow
  • Description – enter a description of the workflow 
  • Type – select the workflow type
    • Modify Modify users
  • Run immediately after approval – pick up a date when the workflow is to run. More details here 
  • Next – click on the button to proceed

Search For A User #

Search for a user – select the users to be updated

  • Search for a user – select individual users
  • Search for a group – select a group of users
  • Search for an OU – select Org. Unit of users.

When the users are added click on Proceed to actions. 

Choose actions #

Choose actions – on the left side menu multiple options will be presented

Any of the options can be selected and taken to Modify the workflow

For example:

  • Set user manager
  • Add users to Groups

List of Modify actions #

List of actions available for Modify workflow:

  • Email – actions for Google Email
    • Send email – send email to end-user
      • Type – select type of email
        • Send to selected users
        • Send to a specified user
        • Send to private emails
      • Topic – enter the topic for the email
      • Content – enter the content of the email
    • Set up auto-reply – set up “out of office” message to selected users
      • Enable – enable the auto-reply
        • Restrict to contacts – restrict the email only to contacts of the user
        • Restrict the domain – restrict the email to only domain users
    • Set email auto-forwarding – This action will set auto-forwarding to selected users
      • Transfer to – pick a user who the forwarded email will go to
      • Type – select any of the options for the auto-forward
        • Keep emails in the inbox
        • Mark emails as read
        • Archive emails
        • Delete emails
    • Set email delegation – this action will be sent a delegation to the selected users
      • Delegate to – pick a user to whom the delegation will be added
      • Temporary delegation –
        • Disabled – will be indefinitely
        • Enabled – will allow selecting the hours 
    • Set POP – enable POP
    • Set IMAP – enable IMAP
    • Create Email filter – create an email filter and set up forward action to the user’s Gmail account
    • Migrate emails – migrate Emails from the selected user to another user
    • Remove email forwarding – remove the email forwarding enabled
    • Remove email delegation – remove the email delegation
  • Drive – actions for Google drive files
    • Copy folder to selected users – Copy Folders from chosen user to the selected users 
    • Folder, Shared Drive permission change – Add or remove users from Folder or Shared Drive
  • Calendar – actions for Google Calendar
    • Add users to calendars – this action will ad users to selected calendars
      • Add to – search and enter primary email address
      • Type – set with what permission to add the user to the calendar
        • Owner
        • Writer
        • Reader
        • Free/Busy reader 
    • Share user calendar with specific people – add to selected emails
      • Select user or groups
      • Select – Role
        • Owner 
        • Writer
        • Reader
        • Free/Busy reader
    • Transfer calendar events – this action will change the owner of all/future calendar events
      • Transfer to – pick a user to whom you will transfer the calendar events 
      • Only future events – enable or disable the action to be taken on future events only
    • Delete user calendar events – This action will remove all calendar events
      • Only future events – enable or disable the action to be taken on future events only
  • User – actions for Google users
        • Set as super admin
        • Set email signature
        • Set user role
        • Copy user contacts
        • Change user passwords
          • New password – enter the new password manually
          • Change password at next login – enable or disable the option
          • Send user password – select the password receiver
          • Generate user password – enable to generate automatically a password 
            • Password receiver – select who to receive the generated password
              • Manager – select the receiver of the generated password to be the Manager
              • User private email – the private email of the user will receive the generated password via email
              • Workflow creator – the person who creates the workflow will receive the generated password via email
        • Change user passwords at the next login – force a change of password at the next login
        • Change user organization unit – change or set the organization unit of the selected users
        • Suspend user – suspend the user
        • Set time zone – set the time zone for the user
        • Set address me as – set the address me as pronounces for the Email signature of the user
        • Set user manager – set the specific user to be Manager to the selected users
        • Set user’s preferred language – change or set the preferred language of the selected users 
        • Google application data transfer – transfer data from one user to another
          • Transfer to – select to whom to transfer data to
          • Application – select the application
            • Currents
            • Calendar
            • Google Data Studio
            • Drive and Docs
        • Clear recovery data – clear recovery data from the users’ accounts
          • Clear recover email
          • Clear recovery phone
        • Force sign out – Force users sign out of their account across all devices and browsers
        • Delete user profile picture – delete the user profile picture
        • Delete 2-step verification backup codes – delete 2-step verification backup codes from the users’ accounts
        • Disable 2-Step Verification
        • Delete app-specific passwords
        • Remove user from all calendars
        • Remove user from Google sites  – remove the user (and their access) from all Google Sites in the domain
        • Revoke apps tokens – This action will delete all access tokens issued by a user for all applications.
        • Change global directory visibility – change the visibility so the account is visible or not
        • Remove user access to files and folders – This action will remove the user’s access to all folders (including shared drives) and files that were shared with the given scope
  • Group – actions for Google groups
    • Add user to groups – select groups and add the chose users to them
    • Delete users from groups – delete/remove the users from the chosen groups or all groups 
  • Classrooms – actions for Google Classrooms
    • Add users as co-teachers to existing Google classrooms
    • Add users as students to Google classrooms
    • Remove students from all Classrooms
    • Remove teachers from all Classrooms
  • Devices – actions for Devices
    • Wipe mobile devices
    • Change ChromeOS device status
    • Change Google license assignment

Send approval request – click when any of the actions are selected and the details filled in.

A pop-up window will be displayed where it can be confirmed to proceed with the request.

Note: If you have pre-approval enabled you can proceed without an approval email. More details can be found here

The request will be sent to the Security officer for approval.

The Security Officer can review and approve or deny the workflow.

From the menu on the left click the Workflow tab to see details.

Result #

Workflow – click to view details of the Modify workflow

The status of the request can be as follows:

  • Requested – send to Security officer for approval
  • Approved – the Security Officer has approved the request
  • Job status – will show the status of the current workflow job
    • Scheduled – when is set to run
    • Done – when the workflow has been completed
    • Partially done – when completed partially
      • Eye icon – click on the eye icon to view more details
  • Eye icon – the purple icon on the right side will show all details for the Flow request
    • Save as action set – save the Workflow as an action set for easy later use
    • Edit – edit the workflow and apply changes

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website